The Crown Pony Library

One of the earliest pony libraries was the Crown Pony Series, which featured titles published by the Lutterworth Press. Lutterworth published titles in various libraries (the Dominion Library was another) and it isn’t particularly easy to work out in what edition a title first appeared, or if it was in the Crown Pony Library when it did.

It’s also quite difficult to work out exactly how many titles were published in thePony Library: they appeared both in hardback and paperback. As far as I can see, most titles were published between the mid 1960s and 1970s. The numbering doesn’t seem particularly consistent; Pony Girl being listed both as Number 4 and Number 21.

The Lutterworth titles were mainly by authors who were in the second rank. The titles are generally good solid reads, but Monica Edwards or Ruby Ferguson they are not.

Title list

Elinore Havers – Dream Pony
Elinore Havers – Gay and the Ponies
Elinore Havers – A Pony to Catch
Hilda Boden – Pony Girl
Elinore Havers – Only One Pony
Sylvia Scott White – Pony Pageant
Elinore Havers – Pony Sleuths
Delphine Ratcliff – The Golden Pony
Delphine Ratcliff – Clear Round for Katy
Catherine Carey – Grey Arrow
Elinore Havers – Pony Watch
Catherine Carey – Pink Pony
Elinore Havers – The Great Pony Mystery
Catherine Carey – Show-Jumping Summer
Elinore Havers – Ponies Across the River
Catherine Carey – Because of a Pony
Catherine Carey – The Nameless Pony
Myrtle Green – A Pony – Doctor’s Orders
Elinore Havers – The Merry-March Ponies
Myrtle Green – The Part-Exchange Pony
Hilda Boden – Pony Boy
Hilda Boden – The Little Grey Pony


As far as I know, not all the Crown Pony titles made it into paperback.  Listed below are those I have found at least mentioned in titles listings on paperback copies.

Only One Pony – Elinore Havers
Show-jumping Summer – Catherine Carey
A Pony to Catch – Elinore Havers
Pony Sleuths – Elinore Havers
Pony Watch – Elinore Havers
Little Grey Pony – Hilda Boden
Gay and the Ponies – Elinore Havers
Grey Arrow – Catherine Carey
Dream Pony – Elinore Havers
Clear Round for Katy – Delphine Ratcliff
The Great Pony Mystery – Elinore Havers
Pony Pageant – Sylvia Scott-White