Hartman, Robert

About the author

Robert Hartman wrote the Buffin series, of which one can be called a horse book. The series consists of charming short stories, illustrated in colour by the artist, about Mr Buffin and his various adventures. Dating the series is very difficult: the British Library has what I think are later printings, as some of the series were certainly in existence in the 1930s. The books were reprinted several times. There are 24 books in the series. Many thanks to David Dandy for supplying the missing title, Mr Buffin and Wellington.

Finding the book
Not easy to find in any edition, particularly with a dustjacket.


The Mr Buffin Series
Mr Buffin and Fluff Rabbit
Shut-Eye and the Weathercock
Fitz Roy and Moley
Nosy and the Slipper
Ink and the Milk
Mr Buffin and his Grey Mare
Bobby Robin and the Worm
Mr Buffin and Wellington
Mo’s Adventure
Wakeful Comes to Stay
Mr Buffin and Mr Crikey
Mr Buffin and Harold Trotter
Mr Buffin and his Geese
Mr Buffin Buys a Goat
Mr Buffin Takes to Farming
Lucky Will’s Lucky Escape
Mr Buffin and Young Edmund
Mr Buffin’s Holiday with Mildred
Mr Buffin and Eric Hampole
Mr Buffin and Ruff and Tumble
Mr Buffins’ Visitor
Mr Buffin in Trouble
Mr Buffin at the Sea-side
Mr Buffin’s Poultry Farm


Mr Buffin and his Grey Mare

Arthur Barker Ltd, London, 1937
Possibly published in 1945 by W & A K Johnston, London & Edinburgh
Arthur Barker Ltd, London, 30 pp. 1957 Illus the author. (right)

Mr Buffin is fond of riding, and has a well behaved grey mare called Violet. They usually go to church on Sunday, but one Sunday, Mr Buffin takes Violet for a ride instead, and she takes grave exception to that.