Ashton, Janet

About the author

Janet Ashton (b.1913) has, as far as I’m aware, written one book, Yattunga (1983). It’s set in New South Wales just after World War II.

Finding the book
Reasonably easy to find.



Bilver BTY, 1983, illus Christine Alderton

For Margaret, Christopher and Jane, the summer holidays mean the chance to ride their beloved ponies in the mountains and valleys of Yattunga, the sheep and cattle property in southern NSW where they grew up. They have the English Robert and Veronica, and the difficult refugee Pieter, to introduce to station life too. The adventurous summer includes sheep thieves, bush fires, and appearing at the Royal Easter Show, as well as the day-to-day events of Australian country life.